Some people have asked where I am now. Slideshare uses cookies to improve functionality and performance, and to provide you with relevant advertising. Takeaways for … You only need to set a mindset and reframe your tasks as opportunities to help others. Self published, engineering focussed ebooks might be a good way to leverage old skills while polishing new ones. Facebook! I might be interested in being a translator/tour guide on a tropical island or work on documentary or travel films. Don’t feel bad about it because that happens. structural engineer here. r/engineering is **NOT** for students to ask for guidance on selecting their major, or for homework / project help. Firework design is a rapidly advancing field which has come a long way from the gunpowder and bamboo creations of the past. Reader, I'm a software engineer. And you can keep working on your fiction on the side. I will pass my board … Assuming you plan on staying in this industry after you leave your current position, learn as much as you can about the industry including all of the technical information, new computer programs, new laws and regulations, etc. Would you feel the same way 10-15 years from now as an engineer? Also, if you do change majors consider keeping engineering as a minor, I know for me I have only eleven credits left to get my minor after I switched halfway through my sophomore year. But I don't want to be an engineer anymore. I don’t believe it’s just because I’m a younger engineer and thus lower on the totem pole; I’ve worked with many middle-aged engineers who basically did the same work as me despite their seniority. Speaks Spanish, English and Portuguese fluently. When you realize engineering is not for you but you are already an engineer One of the biggest problems that an engineer can have in his or her entire career is to realize one day that he or she doesn’t want to become an engineer anymore. Watch Queue Queue You’ve learned how to think like an engineer, and how to sol